At its core, Oquendo Center is a facility designed for professionals to share, communicate, teach and learn. It is a unique venue, encompassing over 70,000 square feet of state-of-the-art educational, laboratory and meeting space, devoted to practical, clinical and knowledge-based learning for the medical profession. It also serves as an open canvas for a variety of receptions, meetings and events. Oquendo Center has earned the distinction of being one of the only facilities of its kind in the country.

Our Background

Originally built to support the WVC Annual Conference in Las Vegas, Nevada, Oquendo Center facilitates the hands-on training portion of the Conference. WVC sought to provide its attendees a state-of-the-art facility where they could practice, learn and grow, utilizing the most innovative equipment and technology, as well as offering veterinarians year-round continuing education opportunities. This unrelenting commitment to remain at the forefront of veterinary advancement aids in attracting educators and practitioners who are at the top of their fields.

Although providing veterinary education was the initial mission of Oquendo Center, the facility has become a year-round resource for the medical community at large and furthers WVC’s tradition of excellence and innovation originally set forth in 1928.

Board of Directors

W. Mark Hilton, DVM, Dipl. ABVP-Beef Cattle

Joe M. Howell, DVM

Darwin R. Yoder, MS, DVM

Dennis M. McCurnin, DVM

James E. Nave, DVM

E. David Stearns, RVT

John Burkhartsmeyer, DVM

Brian Poteet, MS, DVM, DACVR, ABSNM


Joan (joni) Samuels, DVM

Gary D. Weddle, DVM

Debbie White, DVM

William (Bill) Wright, DVM

Theresa Fossum, DVM, MS, PhD, DACVS

Morgan McArthur, DVM

Heather Prendergast, RVT, CVPM, SPHR

Executive Staff

David Little

Anthony Pease, DVM, MS, DACVR

Education Managers


Kara Burns, MS, MEd, LVT, VTS (Nutrition)

Teresa Lightfoot, DVM, DABVP

John Mass, DVM

David McCormick, MS

Ann Rashmir-Raven, DVM, MS, DACVS

Tony Watson, DVM

Oquendo Center Staff

Aubrey Arreola

Crystal Vaquera

Sheri Hess

Yolanda Saenz

Jocelyn Orquita

Dawn Casagrande-Terry

Jessica Grantham, LVT

Tomas Vanderloop, LVT

Yanet Martinez

Ruth Ward, LVT

Susie Carpenter


Hector Saenz

Hailey Cullen, LVT

Morgan Frazee, LVT

Phillip Page


Marsha Moon

Oscar Torres

Juan Botello

Al Robinson


Manuel Torres

Shannon Youngblood

Tim Holloway

Principle Benefactor

Founding Partners


Equipment Donors